Kristin TrübKristin Trüb

GO: Kristin Trüb

Texas Germans

Multimedia artist Kristin Trüb (*1986 in Hagenow) is interested in personal stories about identification, socialisation and migration. She engages in cross-media work with photography, film and sound. Her first Book Letzte Generation Ost was released at Éditions Bessard.

Through Ruhr Residence, Kristin flies to Texas, where she researches the notion of culture on the example of Texas Germans. Around the turn of the century, German immigrants formed the largest, most respected and best organised foreign ethnicity in the USA. The two world wars have mostly destroyed this parallel universe. Few minorities have managed to conserve parts of their culture as well as the Texas Germans.

Among others, her research focuses on stereotypes and nostalgic remains. Kristin reserves special attention to language. To this day, there exist active speaker groups of Texas German, a unique dialect threatened by extinction.

–> Kristin Trüb’s Website

Neueste Posts:

Promiseland

“I want to go to America! I want to leave my fatherland, my Germany, to found another home on the other side of the sea.” Excerpt from a letter from Julius Schlickum shortly before emigrating…

Read More

New Braunfels

The propaganda of the Mainzer Adelsverein worked very well. Between 1844 and 1847, over 7300 emigrants moved to Texas. Galveston was the first point after weeks of travel on the sea. The first settlers were…

Read More

German Belt

In Germany people noticed nearly nothing about the starting difficulties. So the Texas fever continued. Soon, more settlement area was needed. The successor to Prince Solms, John O. Mäusebach, set out in search of it….

Read More

Ein Prosit der Gemütlichkeit

Skewered sausages, huge turkey legs and of course lots of beer are available at the Wurstfest in New Braunfels – the largest German Volksfest in America. Here one celebrates the German culture quite traditionally in…

Read More

Opa

“Opa” (grandpa) is a popular term in the German Belt Area. It stands for the German virtues: hard working, always being in time and tidiness. You can rely on “Opa”. At the Wurstfest you will…

Read More

Opa`s Smoked Meat

There is one thing in German culture: sausages. Even in Texas. In 1947, Opa’s Smoked Meat started as a small smokehouse in Fredericksburg. It is a family business that has grown over decades and built…

Read More

Texasdeutsch

German words come up again and again when you drive through the German Belt. At least the names of the cities refer to the German past. For a long time only the German language was…

Read More

Kristin TrübKristin Trüb

GO: Kristin Trüb

Texasdeutsche

Multimediakünstlerin Kristin Trüb (*1986 Hagenow) interessiert sich für persönliche Geschichten rund um die Themen Identifikation, Sozialisation und Migration. Sie arbeitet crossmedial mit Fotografie, Film und Sound. Ihr erstes Buch “Letzte Generation Ost” erschien bei Éditions Bessard.

Im Rahmen der Ruhr Residence fliegt Kristin nach Texas. Dort recherchiert sie am Beispiel der Texasdeutschen den Kulturbegriff. Deutsche Einwanderer bildeten um 1900 die größte, angesehenste und am besten organisierte fremdsprachige Ethnie in den USA. Beide Weltkriege haben die deutschsprachige Parallelwelt weitgehend zerstört. Wenige Minderheiten, wie die Texasdeutschen, haben Teile ihrer Kultur bis in die Gegenwart bewahrt.
In der Arbeit geht es unter anderem um Klischees und nostalgische Überbleibsel. Besondere Aufmerksamkeit widmet Kristin der Sprache, denn in Texas gibt es bis heute Menschen die Texasdeutsch sprechen. Ein einzigartiger Mischdialekt, der langsam ausstirbt.

Zur Website von Kristin Trüb

Neueste Posts:

Promiseland

„Ich will nach Amerika! – Mein Vaterland, mein Deutschland, will ich verlassen, um jenseits des Meeres mir eine andere Heimat zu gründen.“ Auszug aus einem Brief von Julius Schlickum kurz vor seiner Auswanderung im Jahr…

weiterlesen

New Braunfels

Die Propaganda des Mainzer Adelsverein funktionierte. Zwischen 1844 und 1847 zog es über 7300 Auswanderer nach Texas. Galveston war der erste Anlaufpunkt nach wochenlanger Reise auf dem Meer. In Empfang genommen wurden die ersten Siedler…

weiterlesen

German Belt

Von den Startschwierigkeiten bekam man in Deutschland kaum etwas mit und so hielt das Texasfieber weiter an. Schon bald wurde mehr Siedlungsfläche benötigt. Also machte sich der Nachfolger von Prinz Solms, John O. Mäusebach, auf…

weiterlesen

Ein Prosit der Gemütlichkeit

Aufgespießte Wurst, riesige Truthahnschenkel und natürlich jede Menge Bier gibt es beim Wurstfest in New Braunfels – dem größten deutschen Volksfest in Amerika. Hier feiert man die deutsche Kultur ganz traditionell in Dirndln und Lederhosen…

weiterlesen

Opa

„Opa“ ist ein beliebter Begriff im German Belt Area. Er steht für die deutschen Tugenden: Fleiß, Pünktlichkeit und Ordnung. Auf Opa ist Verlass. Auch auf dem Wurstfest findet man das Wort an jeder Ecke. Opa…

weiterlesen

Opa`s Smoked Meat

Zur deutschen Kultur gehört Wurst. Auch in Texas. 1947 hat Opa´s Smoked Meat als kleine Räucherei in Fredericksburg angefangen. Es ist ein Familienbetrieb der über Jahrzehnte gewachsen ist und seine Marke rund um Opa aufgebaut…

weiterlesen

Texasdeutsch

Deutsche Wörter begegnen einem immer wieder, wenn man durch den German Belt fährt. Allein die Namen der Städte verweisen auf die deutsche Vergangenheit. Lange Zeit wurde ausschließlich deutsch gesprochen. Die Einwanderer kamen aus verschiedenen Regionen….

weiterlesen